American Association of Philosophy Teachers (AAPT)


The Lenssen Prize

In memory of Mark Lenssen, the American Association of Philosophy Teachers awards a a biennial prize for the best essay published on the general theme of philosophy teaching. The prize includes a cash award of $100, and is awarded at the biennial conference of the AAPT.

Awards of Merit for Outstanding Leadership and Achievement

AAPT gives this award on occasion in recognition of outstanding leadership and achievement in the teaching of philosophy. Previous recipients include

  • Martin Benjamin
  • Myles Brand
  • Terry Bynum
  • James Campbell
  • Daryl Close
  • Betsy Decyk
  • James Friel
  • Nancy Hancock
  • Michael Hooker
  • Tziporah Kasachkoff
  • Eugene Kelly
  • John Ladd
  • Rosalind Ladd
  • Matthew Lipman
  • Richard Schacht
  • Robert Solomon
  • Robert Timko
  • William Whisner
  • Arnold Wilson
  • Overview
    About Us
    Board / Officers
    Bylaws / Governance
    Conferences / Meetings
    Awards / Grants
    Other Resources
    Find us on facebook

    For Subscribers:
    Membership Login
    Change Address